0

Gluten: What is it?

Posted by Ben Burstein

What is Gluten? Gluten is the name for proteins most commonly found in wheat. Gluten acts like glue, helping food keep their elastic texture like dough. Fun fact: the original Latin meaning of gluten is glue! Gluten is mostly associated with wheat, but it is not the only place it can be found. Those with […]

What is Gluten?

Gluten is the name for proteins most commonly found in wheat. Gluten acts like glue, helping food keep their elastic texture like dough. Fun fact: the original Latin meaning of gluten is glue! Gluten is mostly associated with wheat, but it is not the only place it can be found. Those with Celiac disease or gluten intolerances must be careful about what foods they eat.

Why can’t some people eat it?

One of the main reasons someone can’t ingest gluten is Celiac disease. Celiac is an autoimmune disorder that causes gluten to trigger immune system activity that damages the lining of the small intestine. If this happens overtime it can cause those affected to not be able to appropriately absorb nutrients from food. A gluten sensitivity doesn’t have the same risk of the negative effects of gluten. Symptoms can include abdominal pain, bloating and constipation.

What is the diet like?

As you might imagine, those with Celiac or sensitivity to gluten should be very careful with their diet. Making sure to avoid those foods with gluten. In today’s age, having some sort of sensitivity to gluten is very common, and foods have been changing to provide gluten free options.

Many also choose to avoid foods with gluten altogether. Fruits, vegetables, beans, dairy, lean meats and many different types of grains are all naturally gluten free. Obviously, there are some things like bread that does not come gluten free. There are however gluten-free options and many companies specifically focus on making gluten-free options. As with being vegan, there are some common misconceptions about those who need to avoid gluten, one being that their diet is limited and sometimes lackluster. Again, this is not true at all.

Those with Celiac or sensitive to gluten enjoy a flavorful diet as those without dietary needs! Seasonings from Savvy & Well like make a flavorful addition to anything without the worry of gluten! No matter what type of diet you have to have or choose to have, there are Savvy blends made just for you!

Are you gluten-free? Let us know if you’ve made any delicious gluten-free options with our spices!


Search